Editing my manuscript, feeling like it's all fallen apart

Status
Not open for further replies.

DavidTShank

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.davidtshank.com
I have a 65k word manuscript that I'm editing. It's not too long, so I've been flying through it. I'm still in the "marking up the hard copy" stage, so I haven't made any changes to the document, but I've found a lot of big problems near the end.

First off, I introduced five characters all at once. I really regret this decision, but I can combine them down to one character. Thing is, I'm overwhelmed by the process to come.

There's also a big part of the story early on that I feel like should be brought up later and actually be worth something to the story. The main character is told to avoid something, so surely, as a writer, my responsibility is to make sure he's unable to avoid that something, right?

I also have an issue with a part where nothing happens because something should happen. I need to throw Murphy's Law at this story. But that's probably going to require a new chapter, and it's definitely going to change a portion of the chapter after it.

That's basically it. I'm just overwhelmed. I think I can do it, but it's really going to be a pain.

Silver lining, I suppose, is that things I've heard from others about how editing a manuscript will help in writing my next novel is true. I'm definitely seeing where I made mistakes in the story, mistakes which could have been corrected in the actual writing of the novel. I'll definitely plan better next time.

How do you deal with these kinds of problems?

Sage

Supreme Guessinator
Staff member
Registered
Reaction score
Well, first of all, congratulations on recognizing and being willing to make these major revision needs. That is a huge success.