How long did it take you to finish your first novel?

Status
Not open for further replies.

GiantRampagingPencil

That new author smell . . .
Registered
Reaction score
I'm sure there must be a thread on this topic, but I'm damned if I can find it. So apologies in advance to the mods for any thread proliferation.

I've been working on my first one for about four years now--only two of those have been serious. I'll like to hear stories that will either make me feel better, or push me over the edge.

enesthi

Registered
Reaction score
I've been working on the one I have closest to finished off and on for about... 15 years maybe? But only seriously for about 3-4 years of that. I'm not even done yet, I've only finished the first draft and I've gutted that now.

Kerosene

Your Pixie Queen
Registered
Reaction score
I dropped it pretty quickly. Maybe 10 days before moving on to a new story.

30+ novel, 100+ starts later, I'm hammering one out in 2 weeks.

espresso5

Registered
Reaction score
My first attempt at a novel lasted about four months and 35k words before I gave it up. My second attempt I finished a first draft in about ten months (120k words) and spent about two months editing. I would probably want to spend fifty or sixty more hours on it before I would consider it polished.

elguapo

Registered
Reaction score
I had the idea kicking about in my head for a good few years before sitting down and getting the thing out of me. I think it took about 7-8 month and weighed in at around 90k words. After reading through, I decided to completly re-write it and have done around 70 in about 3 months.

The thing that helped me finsih the first time, even when I thought things were getting dire, was wanting to actually finish the thing. Once I wrote 'The End' I knew it didn't matter how good or bad it was because I knew I would be writing those 2 words a lot moe times in teh future.

Good luck :)

seun

Horror Man
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.lukewalkerwriter.com