• Read this stickie before posting.

• In order to reduce the number of new members requesting a Beta reader before they're really ready for one, we've instituted a 50 post requirement before you can start a thread seeking a Beta reader.
    • You can still volunteer to Beta for someone else; just please don't request someone to Beta for you until you're more familiar with the community and our members.

Anyone want to read a 2.5K short story written by a complete beginner?

Status
Not open for further replies.

GhostReporting

Registered
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I was wondering if anybody out there would want to read a short story written by a complete noob writer?

The story has everything, including bad grammar, terrible pacing and of course cliché characters! All joking aside, I really am an absolute beginner with zero writing skills who aspires to start a journey of writing. I have always been too scared to show anything I have ever written and really need to break the ice. So, I wrote this quick short story last night and want to get some feedback. Is it interesting?

What I need most from this post is for someone to tell me where to start learning based on my skill level? I was thinking a freshman English textbook. Would that be best?

Please remember that I am a beginner, wanting to change myself for the better. I made some mistakes and partied my way through high school, and academics were the last thing on my mind.

Let me know if you are interested.
Thanks
Nick

GhostReporting

Registered
Reaction score
Sorry just remembered the 50 post requirement. I will try and delete this. Thanks!

Unimportant

No COVID yet. Still masking.
Staff member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Judging from your post, your English skills are well above average. Grammar, punctuation and sentence structure aren't a problem.

The craft of writing for the reader is an entirely different skill set. I would suggest starting with this book, which covers all the basics.