Question about Editor and Assignment

Kristymarie_24

Registered
Reaction score
After sending out a LOI I received an assignment from a trade magazine. I wrote it and after i turned it in I got an email back saying thanks and that she would get back to me. A week or two later all was well and I was approved for $200 payment and given a second assignment. This time my assignment was a feature article. Anyways, I wrote it and am nervous about it. I just don't know if its good enough. plus i never got a reply back..and when i emailed to ask if she was happy with it she said she hadn't had time to read it yet.

My question is..have you ever written something you were hired to write but it ended up not being good enough? If so, how did they tell you?

thanks for all of your help

triceretops

Banned
Flounced
Reaction score
Website
guerrillawarfareforwriters.blogspot.com
I'm a freelancer both for clients and magazines. I've never had one refused or told it wasn't good enough, but I sure have been through the ringer trying to revise it/them to editor's specs. I've rewritten articles, sometimes four or five times before I got it right. I think I've given up on two articles out of about 2,100, in the past three years. In those cases, the suggested changes were unreasonable and downright weird.

tri

gettingby

Registered
Reaction score
It happens, but if you were hired to write the story and they don't want it, you usually get something called a kill fee. It tends to no more than half of what they would have paid you if they took the story.

FYI -- Don't say "anyways." It is always "anyway."

Kristymarie_24

Registered
Reaction score
Hopefully if its not what they need I will just have a lot of revisions. I'm so worried about it. I wish I just knew how she felt about it. Hopefully I hear something tomorrow :/

*Amel*

Registered
Reaction score