Sewing clothes

MaryMumsy

the original blond bombshell
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
So, after searching every on-line source and brick-and-mortar store I could think of, in the vain search for a simple black skirt *with pockets*, I went to the fabric store and got a pattern and yardage.

I have made my own clothes off and on for the better part of 50 years, but haven't done anything in about 15. So, I'm pulling up my big girl panties and jumping in.

MM

mirandashell

Banned
Reaction score
Me too. I've been making clothes for about 8 months now. Mostly by taking nice clothes that doesn't fit me anymore apart and upscaling the pieces.

Maryn

Baaa!
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I have a lot of sewing experience, although I sew much less than I once did. When and if you get into trouble, the internet is a godsend. You can seek tutorials on how to do things (lapped zipper application, anyone?), usually with either a video or text with photographs for each step. At Craftster.org and other places online you can ask for clarification on pattern instructions which aren't clear, even post a photograph of your WIP and whatever issue it's posing.

Although if you need some help, I'm happy to give it a shot here.

Maryn, who buys fabric like they might stop making it

mirandashell

Banned
Reaction score
I found some great tutorials on the internet when I started. Got loads of bookmarks.

MaryMumsy

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
It should be pretty simple. A front panel, a back panel, tube with elastic waistband. I'm creating my own patch pockets to plop on the front. If it turns out well, I'll go back for more fabric and make an identical twin.

MM

GailD

Still chasing plot bunnies.
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score