Novice poem

bananamelissa

Climbing the mountain of life
Registered
Reaction score
Website
melissa-field.com
Hello all! As the title states, I'm a total poetry newbie. I haven't written a poem in 15 years, since my college poetry class. I think I got inspired to write this because I was going to an open mic of poetry, and also started reading poetry again. I have a website that's all about meditation, relaxation and self-love, with a dash of my writing journey thrown in. I think I'd like to share this poem on there in the future. But I'm feeling nervous (really nervous) because I am just not a poet. This poem just sprang up in my mind and I felt I had to write it down. I wrote it after getting some criticism that really upset me. So this is hopefully my first step in sharing this poem to a wider audience. I have shared my prose on AW before and I've always found it to be a supportive and insightful community. I am grateful I have a place I feel safe sharing this, so thank you for having taken the time to open my post. I would love to get your overall feelings of this. Okay, deep breath. Here it is:

My Garden

One year I decided I would plant
an exquisite garden
with all kinds of
flowers, herbs & plants.

When it was fully grown I opened the
gate to my garden & welcomed in my
neighbors to see what I'd created.

The first person said I'd planted too
many roses. 'Roses are so cliché,' they said.
You should change that, it makes the
whole garden seem old fashioned.

I found myself nodding my head and agreeing.
How could I have been so stupid?
Roses are totally cliché and overdone.
I should have been more original.
The roses are stupid, I can see it now,
and I hate them when I look at them.

The second person said my cactus in the corner
was weird, and it messed up the whole garden.
It was too random. What was a cactus doing here?
It made no sense.

And again, I found myself nodding in agreement.
How could I have been so stupid? The cactus is weird,