I'm never doing standard pie crust for pumpkin pie again

MookyMcD

I go to eleven
Registered
Reaction score
Website
michaeljmcdonagh.wordpress.com
I had a sweet potato, and a pumpkin, and everything else for a couple of pumpkin/potato pies except shortening or lard. No biggie, I did a graham cracker crust.

Why the hell have I not done this before? Seriously, graham cracker/pecan crust went soooooooo much better with the flavors and textures of a pumpkin pie, I can't even stop thinking about it. To the point, I don't understand why it isn't the standard crust.

Trust me on this. Try it. This is probably the single most valuable post I've put on this board (the whole writing board, not just the cooking part). Seriously, a face/palm moment.

frimble3

Heckuva good sport
Registered
Reaction score
Really dumb technical question because I'm a crappy cook and a worse baker: pumpkin pie filling is runny (I'm sure that's not a mistake, as it happens every time) so doesn't it make the crumbs really soggy? Or is this my lack of knowledge showing?

Putputt

permanently suctioned to Buz's leg
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Heh, I lovelovelove graham cracker crust. If you can get your hands on Digestives, they make for a really great crust as well...and they smell amazing once the hot butter hits.

Frimble - I don't know why, but I never had a problem with the crust getting too soggy...not with pumpkin pie, banoffee pie, or cheesecake anyway. The crust hardens nicely when baked, so it shouldn't be a problem.

MookyMcD

I go to eleven
Registered
Reaction score
Website
I don't think I've ever done a cheesecake that didn't have a graham cracker crust, and it's about the same consistency. You might have a problem if you didn't use enough butter (since the fat would repel water wherever it coated the crumbs). But to answer your question, no problems with sogginess at all.

cornflake

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score