• Guest please check The Index before starting a thread.

Seleer Press / Editorial Seleer

eljayvee

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.lucaveste.com
Hello!

Long time lurker - first time poster.

Enquiring on behalf of a family member (I am a traditionally published author personally, with a HarperCollins imprint in the UK) about an approach that was made to her on Twitter. The account is called Seleer Press which led to finding a website titled EditorialSeleer . They seem to be approaching a number of new writers and offering publishing services.

I've had a quick search on here, as I usually do when asked about unknown publishers, but couldn't find anything with this name. Was hoping the great minds here could provide a bit more info for me to pass on.

Old Hack

Such a nasty woman
Super Moderator
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
I've had a look at the Seeler Press website and am not at all keen on what I've seen there.

First up: it's almost nonsensical. Either it's been written by someone who doesn't speak English very well, or it's been translated into English by someone without a real understanding of the language. It's kind of important for a publisher to be fluent in the language they're publishing in, don't you think?

The focus of the site isn't on selling books to readers, which is how trade publishers make their money; it's on persuading writers to publish with them, which makes me think this is a pay-to-play operation.

From its "services" page:

We send press notes for your signings and we promote your work by means of social networks.

We publish on paper, ebook and kindle.

E-books and kindle versions, eh?

Without neither financing nor co-editing your work. We just need you to sell a minimum of copies in the first signing. You have a week to sell them.