Lists/Descriptions and Commas

upsidedown

Registered
Reaction score
I'm not very good with grammar. I get the basics, but I really wish I'd understand the more complex stuff. I just can't wrap my head around what all the things are called. But anyways, usually I manage to find the answer online, it's just this has been bugging me for a long time.

Do you need an "and" when you do stuff like this:

He sat down, face downcast, shoulders hunched, (and?) fingers steepled in front of him.
or a similar sentence...

He ran through the woods, looking back at every turn, panicking at the slightest sound, hoping, (and?) praying he wouldn't get caught.
The "and" just sounds so off to me. I've tried looking it up but I don't know what that part of a sentence is called. They're not always adjectives. I looked at some published books and found something similar in To Kill a Mockingbird:
Hours of wintertime had found me in the treehouse, looking over at the schoolyard, spying on multitudes of children through a two-power telescope Jem had given me, learning their games, following Jem’s red jacket through wriggling circles of blind man’s bluff, secretly sharing their misfortunes and minor victories.

It basically does the same thing (the last "and" doesn't count to me as it's part of secretly sharing...). Is it correct or should it be "...bluff, AND secretly sharing..."

Is it a style thing? Sometimes the "and" sounds fine and othertimes it seems to halt everything.

cornflake

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
It's a conjunction.

The first sentence is fine with or without the 'and.'

The second sentence is throwing you, I think, because generally, 'hoping and praying,' is one thing, thus there should be no other comma after the one following 'sound.'

Yes, it's a style thing, and an Oxford comma thing. ;)

Ken

Banned
Kind Benefactor
Reaction score
It seems like this should read: