a question about romance series

Status
Not open for further replies.

Monkeyarcher

Registered
Reaction score
Romance is a bit of a foreign language for me (both in writing and in life) but I am working on learning. So sorry ahead of time if this is a silly question (I am the master of the dumb question, by the way), but how do romance series work?I mean those series with the same primary characters in each book, such as the ones centering around a detective agency. It seems that after the first book, the character has met the love ingest and fallen in love, so after that it is no longer a "romance" Street by the common definitions I have heard - the meeting, the conflicted pairing, the over-coming of said conflicts, the HEA, etc. At the very least, the meeting and the HEA seem to be taken care of.
So how do these continue as romances and not just adventures with a love interest?

Feldkamp

Registered
Reaction score
I used to work as an outliner for an indie romance publisher. The outlines always had to be serialized. The best way I can think to describe it is to picture the series being written like a television show. Take Grey's Anatomy, for instance - the romance is never static. Characters fall in and out of love, challenges arise that test emotions, there isn't simply a "we love each other and now it's happily ever after."

Continuing the romance element is about creating obstacles that strengthen or weaken the relationship throughout the series.

girlyswot

Registered
Reaction score
Website
myromancereviews.wordpress.com
They don't. Mostly they are other genres with some romantic elements, like J D Robb's In Death series.

Some series work by having a different couple featured in each book, but set within the same world.

MsLaylaCakes

Playing the waiting game
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.taraquan.com
It's not a dumb question at all. There are several ways I've seen it done--here are the three I can think of off the top of my head: