Co-Authoring Without Getting Frustrated, Lost, or Screwed

thethinker42

Abnormal Romance Author
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.gallagherwitt.com
This isn't a topic exclusive to erotica, obviously, but it was brought up in the social thread in the NC-17 section, and a few people suggested discussing it out here where it doesn't get lost in the shuffle.

So. Co-authoring.

I'm not an expert on the subject, and YMMV of course, but I've been co-authoring now for the better part of a year with two other authors. Four, if you count a multi-author series. This could be a very lengthy post, so for the sake of not making anyone's eyeballs bleed, I'm going to break it into a few individual posts:

1. How do you get started?
2. How do you co-write?
3. How do you avoid getting screwed?

I am writing those posts now, so they should be up soon, but appropriately enough, I'm a little slow because I'm also in a writing session with one of my co-authors. So give me a little time, but they'll be posted today.

thethinker42

Abnormal Romance Author
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.gallagherwitt.com
1. How do you get started?

It really depends. Do you have someone in mind? Or do you just want to try co-authoring?

I did both.

Last year, I had the itch to give it a try because I'd been watching my roommate at a conference while she co-wrote with someone else. It sounded like a lot of fun, and the way they were just blowing through that story? I had to give this a go. So I tweeted, "Really feeling the itch to co-write." Cat Grant, who I'd met at that conference, e-mailed me and asked me if I had anyone in mind, or if I just wanted to try it. Long story short, we decided to try writing a military romance together. We just finished that one, and we're about to dive into the sequel as well as another standalone story.