What would make you read a book about music?

starrykitten

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
I have been doing music journalism for many years now and feel like in addition to developing helpful contacts, I know what makes for a good and distinctive interview. I am working on an outline and pitch for a book I'd like to write about certain musicians (yes, they do have some things in common, though not necessarily genre). Most of these musicians are ones that I have interviewed at least once in the past before, and I am on good standing with their pulicists/PR/labels/etc.

I have been racking my brain trying to make this transcend being just a book of interviews. I have some ideas but I would love to hear more. Especially for those of you who might not otherwise feel compelled to read a book containing a lot of musician interviews, what angle would you really like to see? I really appreciate your feedback.

Siri Kirpal

Swan in Process
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Sat Nam! (literally "Truth Name"--a Sikh greeting)

For me, it would depend on genre. Pop musicians, no thanks. Opera singers, yes please!

But that aside, I think if the interviews went deeper than most...and if the musicians were well-known enough...people might want it.

Blessings,

Siri Kirpal

Maryn

Sees All
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
For me, it's going to be a hard sell. Either I have to care a lot about the musicians, which I don't, or you're going to have to present to me some insight on the lives, the musical creative process, the personality types, whatever might tie such a book together, which has not occurred to me or most other reasonably intelligent people who've known a few musicians.

I'd have greatest interest in collections of musicians with clear parallels--say, percussionists in classical, jazz, new age, metal, pop, arena rock, country, etc.--or a bunch of musicians from a narrow sub-genre, such as viking metal.