• Read this stickie before posting.

• In order to reduce the number of new members requesting a Beta reader before they're really ready for one, we've instituted a 50 post requirement before you can start a thread seeking a Beta reader.
    • You can still volunteer to Beta for someone else; just please don't request someone to Beta for you until you're more familiar with the community and our members.

Seeking Mentor/Beta Reader, YA Scifi/Fantasy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alzarakh

Registered
Reaction score
Hey all, first post and first ever attempt at a novel. So I'm sure you can see that I'm a total noob when it comes to any of this.

Seeking out a mentor/beta reader more than anything. Editing would be amazing too as I'm terrible at describing anything short of a "red brick" or "brown hair".

The first draft is done now and I ran it through MSWord to filter out big mistakes; then printed it off and skimmed through it by hand to make some more changes.

Here's some info that may be helpful:

Length: Approx 68000 words
Genre: Probably YA, Fantasy/Sci-fi
Setting: 22nd century, Canada, west coast. (Im aiming for a world where technology sputtered out and plateau-ed. They have fun toys but nothing too Sci-Fi like warp drives and things like that.)

Really uber short description:
Characters get "marked" by a godess and have to stop a nuclear war, inevitably the main character messes it up and becomes the most hated person in existence (even though it wasn't his fault) and uses his super-power-ish abilities from his "mark" to try and fix everything.

Aiming for it to be a series. I'll probably send out chapter one as it seems to be my weakest chapter and see what people can do with it. Any help would be great :)

Thanks!

Jo Zebedee

space opera-popcorn lover!
Registered
Reaction score
Off the shoulder of Orion, not far from Belfast.
Website
Www.jozebedee.com