It's not IF but WHO...

Status
Not open for further replies.

zclesa

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.bethburgess.co.uk
OK so I'm new to submitting to agents and just received my first two form rejections back. Two down, 90 left on the list...

I don't feel too bothered by the rejections so far. I'm taking the attitude that I will get my novel published, it's just a case of connecting with the right person. I have faith in my writing, and hope that one of the other eight I have submitted to so far will at least give me feedback. That would be so useful in case there are any adjustments I can make to my pitch or structure to give the book a better chance.

In the meantime, I have started another book and am very excited about it. I think it will be more easily marketable than my first one (I write Lit Fic), so even if the first one can't get my foot in the door, hopefully another book will.

Did you once have this sunny attitude, only to be soured and embittered by the weight of multiple rejections as time went on? ;) Or do you think it's useful to stay positive throughout the process?

Maryn

Baaa!
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Nah, I started out bitter and awash in self-loathing.

Maryn, tongue only partly in cheek

Phaeal

Whatever I did, I didn't do it.
Registered
Reaction score
The key is to keep working on the next project, as you're doing. It will cheer you up to think about how you're going to torture all those rejecting agents by sending them something new before long.

:D

ohheyyrach77

Awesome.
Registered
Reaction score
I was excited about my first rejection. Yes, you read that correctly, excited. It just meant I was actually doing this thing.

My second rejection I was sort of in the middle. My third one came with a pang of disappointment and frustration. And the two following them really sucked.