Writing a trilogy

Status
Not open for further replies.

spiralus

Registered
Reaction score
Hi All

I'm very new to this writing lark so forgive me if the following is a dumb question.

I'm looking at writing an romantic/erotic story. I am wondering if the scope is too big for one novel and whether it would better fit into a trilogy. If so, when structuring the story into three "Acts" , should each book cover an act or should each book be three acts as per normal story structuring? Hope this makes sense.

Cheers
Spiralus

Last edited:

BenPanced

THE BLUEBERRY QUEEN OF HADES (he/him)
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Each book should be self-contained so that it can stand alone without the others. You can follow the three-act structure in each book, but it's best to have them end separately without too much of a cliffhanger.

spiralus

Registered
Reaction score
Each book should be self-contained so that it can stand alone without the others. You can follow the three-act structure in each book, but it's best to have them end separately without too much of a cliffhanger.

That's kind of what I was thinking but wasn't sure. Does it ever work the other way do you think, or does it put readers off?

Lillith1991

The Hobbit-Vulcan hybrid
Registered
Reaction score
Website
eclecticlittledork.wordpress.com
That's kind of what I was thinking but wasn't sure. Does it ever work the other way do you think, or does it put readers off?

Does it ever work? Ummm, this will sound saracastic but have you ever heard of Tolkien? Lord of the Rings is basically one continuous story told in three volumes. In fact, it was written as one book and then broken up into volumes by his publisher. Readers would have likely been put off had the huge single volume Tolkien wanted published was put to market, but LoTR has always been fairly popular since it was first published. If I remember right it is called a serial, meaning a single story told in more than one book.