Question about International Thriller Writers Membership

RJ_Beam

Registered
Reaction score
I am new to Fiction writing (I have been writing for police magazines for a few years new) so am learning new things about being an author. Recently bumped into the organization called International Thriller Writers. This seems like a great group to be a member of.

I have a question about it. Seeing how I am not yet published should I pay for membership now? Do you get enough out of the membership that it improves your chances to at being published and thus eligible for other membership perks?

Bergerac

Reading & Writing
Registered
Reaction score
I am new to Fiction writing (I have been writing for police magazines for a few years new) so am learning new things about being an author. Recently bumped into the organization called International Thriller Writers. This seems like a great group to be a member of.

I have a question about it. Seeing how I am not yet published should I pay for membership now? Do you get enough out of the membership that it improves your chances to at being published and thus eligible for other membership perks?

What kind of "published" are you asking about? Short stories, articles or novels? Traditional publishing or self-publishing?

What are your writing goals? Short stories, articles, memoir, novels, or?

What are you hoping that a membership will do for you (from any group)?

The answers to these questions will make a difference.

Bergerac

Reading & Writing
Registered
Reaction score
Ah, wait... I see that you are an aspiring novelist.

The answer to your question if joining a group will help you with getting a novel published. No. Not absolutely no, but pretty much so. It is possible for you to make a friend anywhere in life or on the Internet who is connected to an agent or publisher who is so enamored with your work that they will recommend you, but this doesn't usually happen.