• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

How did you become a great writer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gettingby

Registered
Reaction score
How do you push yourself as a writer? I believe I am a good writer, but I want to be great. I am willing to do the work, but I'm not sure what else I could be doing. I try to write 5,000 to 10,000 words a week. That is divided up between short stories and my book. Also, the occasional essay. I try to write a story a week, but sometimes it takes me a little longer if I spend more time on my book. My goal there is a chapter a week. I am also in school for writing and take it very seriously. I know there is some debate on how useful writing school is, but for me it has made a difference. I read a lot, about a book a week and some shorter pieces.

Though I am making progress, I feel like it is a slow process. What else can I do? What do you do to up your writing skills? Or do these things just take time? I can't help but compare myself to other writers and not just famous ones. Some of the people I go to school with are amazing. There is one girl who is really good. I have watched her writing get better and better with each story she writes. Why isn't the same happening to me?

Last edited:

Fallen

Stood at the coalface
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jacklpyke.com
Don't compare! It's hard not to, but it will get you down in the long run!!! :)

Frustartion is universal, though. E.g., I read. I write. I edit. I read some more. Then I cry a bit in frustration. Then I read some more. Then I edit again. Then cry out some more frustration that it doesn't feel right. Then I'm published, then it all starts over again...

It's just an ongoing process that every writer goes through, so you're not alone. :)