• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Why can't I write everyday? Can you do it?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gettingby

Registered
Reaction score
I am officially abandoning my attempt to write everyday. It just doesn't work for me. I wish it did, but all it's given me are low word counts and exhaustion. Writing three or four times a week has proven to be much more beneficial. I write faster and longer if I wait for the story to be ready to be written. I just get a lot more done. So, I really don't see the point of trying to write everyday if it is actually making me less productive.

When I was a journalist I wrote everyday because I had daily deadlines. It was tough sometimes, but I did it back then. I think creative writing is a little different and needs to be approached differently for me at least.

I guess the reason I thought I should be writing everyday is because I have made creative writing my main focus. I'm in an MFA program and want to accomplish a lot while I'm here. But writing everyday seems to be getting me nowhere, which is a little hard to admit because I've really tried to write everyday more than once, but my creative writing seems to suffer because of it each time I try to do this. It's discouraging.

Have any of you tried and failed at an everyday writing schedule? Is this something I should try again in the future? Does it get easier? Or do you find that spreading things out a bit and not sticking to a regular schedule is best for you? I know everyone's got their own approach. I think I am still trying to figure mine out.

Osulagh

Independent fluffy puppy.
Registered
Reaction score
As long as I have the content to write and the time to do so, then I can everyday.

chompers

Registered
Reaction score