Revise and Resubmit Etiquette?

cottonwood

Registered
Reaction score
Obviously I'm a newbie! Last summer I sent my manuscript to 2 agents who responded with a "not there yet, but would be glad to take another look if revised". Their comments and suggestions were very similar. I revised keeping them in mind, and I am ready to resubmit. (well...not ready, but if you're on the high dive, you eventually either back down or jump.) Do I send a cover letter with revision attached, or do I write to ask if they would like to see it at this time? Do I let them each know that this is going out to another agent, or is it generally accepted that revisions will be going out to other agents? Thanks so much for any help you can give.

Aggy B.

Not as sweet as you think
Registered
Reaction score
I think you can email to say, Thank you for your insight and feedback on this MS. I have made revisions based on your comments and the new version is available.

But make sure you are responding to the rejection/revision comments email - keep it all in the same email "chain".

Alternately, you could simply requery, but add a paragraph to the beginning saying you've made revisions per their comments and since they expressed interest in seeing a new version you want them to know it's ready.

I think you should be okay in responding directly to the previous emails though. I would probably not attach a file until they ask for it, just because unsolicited email (even coming as part of an existing exchange) with attachments are sometimes hinky.

Undercover

I got it covered
Registered
Reaction score
I think you can email to say, Thank you for your insight and feedback on this MS. I have made revisions based on your comments and the new version is available.

But make sure you are responding to the rejection/revision comments email - keep it all in the same email "chain".