How do you know if you've found the right agent?

Lena Hillbrand

Registered
Reaction score
I'm not sure if this is the correct forum for this, but here goes...

I've been querying my MS for about 9 months, and I just got an email offering representation from a very small agency. Since it is a small agency, I don't know much about them. For the more experienced/agented writers out there, how did you know that the agent was the right fit for you?

And what should my next steps be (aside from contacting the handful of other agents who also have the full)?

Neegh

Banned
Reaction score
The agent you have is exactly the right one...'til you fire 'em.

But seriously, you just have to do the best research that you can: look them up on the net, see what they’ve done for their other clients. Try to talk to people who've had dealings with them, and that's about it.

Putputt

permanently suctioned to Buz's leg
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
First things first, have you checked them out on the Bewares and Recommendations forum?

And have you had the phone call with them to discuss things like what edits do they have for your MS and do you agree with them? You could also ask them things like which editors they plan to submit to and how fast they expect you to do the edits. Would they be interested in future works or is the offer exclusively for this particular MS? Ask if you could contact a couple of their clients, maybe?

Good luck and congrats!

Lena Hillbrand

Registered
Reaction score
I just got through reading the entire thread. It wasn't very encouraging, I must admit. I did not get a phone call, which I thought was a little odd, since I thought that's the standard way these things work. I received the offer via email.

Looking around the web now, but not finding a lot of really great stuff. So...maybe a pass? Not even sure how to do that politely!

Neegh

Banned
Reaction score