Beta Readers

Status
Not open for further replies.

E.G. Gammon

Registered
Reaction score
Anyone have any tips on choosing a good beta reader other than: "no family members or friends?" I'm a very paranoid writer (I don't want my writing to end up in the wrong hands) and I need some advice on who I can choose to read some of my stuff. I thought of asking some of my old English teachers from when I was in high school, one in particular who was very strict when grading my writing assignments, but I have no idea whether she would have the time or not. Any suggestions are appreciated.

maestrowork

Fear the Death Ray
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.amazon.com
1. Avid readers, preferrably of your genre

2. Know something about writing, but not necessarily a writer. Sometimes writers can be a bad thing as betas -- they nitpick things to death, tell the author how they would have written it, etc. But certainly, if the reader knows what to look for... POV issues? Grammar? An ear for dialogue?

3. Ask questions. Be specific about what you want out of your readers. Have questions ready. Don't accept vague statements like "this book rocks, the characters are so good." Ask specific questions: "why is it good? Why do you like/dislike this character?"

4. Don't just focus on the good stuff (they like me, they really like me!) or the bad stuff (I'm a BAD writer). Look at the whole.

aadams73

A Work in Progress
Registered
Reaction score
EGGammon said:
Anyone have any tips on choosing a good beta reader other than: "no family members or friends?"

Actually, my mother is my best beta reader. She ruthless and unfailingly honest. She dishes out both praise and critcism and she is always right when she points out something that doesn't quite work. But, she is also an avid reader--which I inherited from her--and she loves my genre(crime/mystery). And through her work, she has more than a passing familiarity with my subject matter.