• Guest please check The Index before starting a thread.

Port Town Publishing

Carlene

New kid, be gentle!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.carlenedater.com
Hi All, I'm new here, but wanted to see if anyone else has had experience with Port Town Publishing. I have and it was NOT good. I'll try to be brief, BUT - I'm a writer. In August of 2004, the owner/editor of PTP accepted one of my books for publication. It's a small publisher, so no advance and the same percentage as from the big publisher. From the beginning, things slipped. I won't go into great detail until someone wants to email me, but basically the editing wasn't good, the publication date slipped by more than two months - I could live with all that. My main concern is the book itself. THe cover is crappy. After going back and forth, I settled on something I wasn't crazy about just to get the thing into publication. When I got my advance copies, I sat on the floor and wept. Not only were there errors in the text, but the books were cut crooked! Yes, I rejected them. The publisher did reprint, but decided on her own to change the color of the book because she "thought it looked better." It doesn't - it's Blah!