Not open for further replies.

Button

Resident in Question
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.calissaleigh.com
Hello!

I wondered how many people here don't outline.

I've been trying to outline my next novel, I just can't. It's not in me to figure out what comes next in the story. That's the character's job, not mine. :)

I just put them in the tight spots and let them go on from there. Are there others that simply can not write with an outline?

alanna

Registered
Reaction score
i tried figuring things out beforehand. lol, my characters mutinied until I let them run the show.

E.G. Gammon

Registered
Reaction score
For me, outlining depends on the complexity of the story. My planned 6-novel series I have been developing for over seven years has over 80 characters and a very complex story. I am outlining it now and it, by itself, could be a novel, it's so long. But, for a regular novel, with a basic story, I don't feel outlines are necessary. A writer should have a general idea of the ending, to know where they are headed while writing the story, though. But, it really depends on the writer I guess.

Jamesaritchie

Registered
Reaction score
Outlines

ButtonTheCat said:
Hello!

I wondered how many people here don't outline.

I've been trying to outline my next novel, I just can't. It's not in me to figure out what comes next in the story. That's the character's job, not mine. :)

I just put them in the tight spots and let them go on from there. Are there others that simply can not write with an outline?

I hate outlining anything. My writing works just fine without it, so I don't do it. Neither do my favorite writers, which has always led me to believe that one thing a new writer should try is immulating the way his favorite writer or two works.

I think very good novels can be written using outlines, and very good novels can be written without outlines, but I can usually see differences in the two.