Does Anyone Else Write Interracial Romance?

Silver-Midnight

Registered
Reaction score
rising from the depths of a cup of coffee
Does anyone else here write interracial romance, like black woman/white man, black woman/ Asian man, and so on?

I mostly write IR romances myself. I write mostly black woman/white man and black woman/Asian man(I'm still trying to get into this genre really). I mostly wrote off and on so, I can give a really accurate time frame of how long I've been a IR romance writer.

How I got into IR was kind of simple really and possible even cliche'. :tongue I wanted to read about women who looked like me falling in love with men who were similar to the kinds of guys I was interested in. My transition in IR romance came from the the types of guys I'm interested in, and it truthfully wouldn't have taken off like it did if I hadn't come across two sites (a forum and a writing site, some what similar to FanFiction.Net) that featured these kinds of stories.

Anyway, that's my little story. Do you write IR romance, and how did you start writing it?

Filigree

Mildly Disturbing
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cranehanabooks.com
Since I write in science fiction and fantasy genres, I don't see my romances as interracial. My humans interact with each other thousands of years after humanity has left Earth behind. Different kinds of humans have different physical characteristics, that's all.

I guess the conventions are more strict for contemporary romances? I'd say write what you love, write it convincingly, and readers will love it, too.

Creative_Solitude

All the world's a stage...
Registered
Reaction score
Although I have an AA novel awaiting release for next April, the novel I am currently working on right now is an IR. I didn't originally set out to write one, it just kind of happened. My hero was originally intended to be AA, but every time I pictured him in my mind, I kept seeing him as Caucasian, so that's what he became.