Mr Flibble

They've been very bad, Mr Flibble
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
We couldn't possibly do that. Who'd clear up the m
Website
francisknightbooks.co.uk
OKay, so I am not an expert on his genre (but I have rad it, due to vetting what my son read etc He says be more surprising please, he can guess the ending 9 times out of ten from the first 3 chapters, sometimes from the blurb) and I kind of happened on this thread

So....gory violence is okay, but sex (consensual?) isn't?

I'm not saying this as a moral pearl clutching, but..have you thought about that? Obviously it depends on what you call graphic violence. But most teens know what sex is. A lot of YA kids will have at least tried a few things out, sex wise or at least know what's going on. If your protagonist is YA age, it would be odd if they didn't mention it (at least in passing , or as part of who they are) Sex is not bad. Violence tends to be.

PS: I'm not really having a go at you here, because this seems very socially acceptable (violence is fine, sex isn't 0.o) but you don't need to perpetuate it (or address it either if you don't want)

CarysDovahkiin

You go Glen Coco
Registered
Reaction score
In a lovely place, in my mind. Would you like to v
Website
charisjoy.blogspot.ca

I read the sticky for this, and it says pretty much anything goes. But I want to know if sex will take away from the violent aspect. Which is more the focus.

Should I add sex only because it is a believable part of 16-19 year old's life.

This is probably subjective, but I read so many YA books that purposely leave out sex. Which makes me wonder how genuine their characters are.

KateSmash

this was a triumph
Registered
Reaction score
This is probably subjective

No probably about it. It all comes down to an author's personal taste and what suits the story.