Show don't tell - understanding this grand principle

Status
Not open for further replies.

goatpiper

Distraction Junkie
Registered
Reaction score
This is one of the hardest concepts in writing for me. I often struggle with it, wondering whether I'm showing or telling. If a novel is a medium that deals a lot with characters' thoughts, then how do you avoid 'telling' too much? What about environmental description?
To be more concise - where is the boundary between showing and telling?
This might be obvious to some, but it's not to me.

Thanks in advance.

clara bow

Li'l Rug Bug
Registered
Reaction score
I'm no expert, but I stumbled across this article while searching for something else, so I thought I'd post it. I'm sure more experienced authors here can fill you in, too. I pulled this from Suite 101:

By Florence U. Cardinal

Draw pictures with your words. Let the reader see what's happening. Show. Don't tell. Excellent advice for both beginning writers and for pros. But how is it done?

Don't tell us Sharon is pretty(this is telling) or Tommy is clumsy (and so is this). When describing your characters, let us see them so we can decide for ourselves.

EXAMPLE #1: Sharon tossed her head and her long dark hair draped over her shoulders like a cape. She smiled and her brown eyes twinkled. Her face shone with an inner glow.

EXAMPLE #2: Tommy hurried along the street whistling a happy tune. Then he stumbled over a crack in the sidewalk. His library books flew out of his arms and landed in a mud puddle and his face turned red.

You can do the same thing with settings. Your readers can't see a hot afternoon in the city or a wintry day at the lake unless you draw the picture for them.