• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Writing = Crap

Status
Not open for further replies.

BloodSpatterAnalyst

"AA" stands for Authors Anonymous
Registered
Reaction score
Does anyone else feel like their writing is just plain dreck?

I mean, there are times when I'm really confident about my work, that I'm really making some positive strides, but then there are times when I feel the exact opposite.

I guess, this is where the saying, "thyself is your own worst enemy" would come into play..

How normal is it for a writer to hate their own work? Can you find a way to overcome it? Or is it something that's just kind of imprinted in you?

Last edited:

Chris P

Likes metaphors mixed, not stirred
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
If hating your own work from time to time is abnormal, then I'm abnormal. I've never met a writer who at least once in a while doesn't feel like he's wasting his time. I don't feel like I'm a bad writer anymore, but I do feel like I write bad stuff sometimes.

One remedy for me is to leave the work alone for a while, like a month or two, then come back to it. I read through what I have so far, and anything I think is good is probably good, anything I think is bad needs work. When I get too close to my work is when I think it's bad.

Putputt

permanently suctioned to Buz's leg
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Like Chris, I haven't come across a writer who doesn't question herself from time to time.