The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

Yeshanu

Elf Queen
Registered
Reaction score
:D

In case y'all haven't realized it, the word "fan" is short for "fanatic."

I have a book, Meditations on Middle Earth. It features essays by such well-known fantasy and sci-fi writers as OSC, Ursula K. Le Guin, Raymond E. Feist, and Terry Pratchett.

A number of the essays start out something like this:

Hi, my name is Ruth. I first read Lord of the Rings when I was seventeen. I loved it. My math teacher wasn't so enthused.

I've read it through at least once each year, and it's been an incredible influence in my life. I started reading other fantasy books because I was looking for more. I started playing Dungeons and Dragons. I started to write my own fantasy stories.

The above is part of my story, but it's also the story of so many of us. My sort-of-ex-husband works with a woman named Arwen. One of the authors in Meditations tells of having a room-mate named Galadriel. I'm sure there are boys out there named Frodo and Aragorn and Faramir, too.

Why is this book so influential? Why are there, or so I've heard, ten million people world-wide who are hard-core fanatics like me?

Perks

delicate #!&@*#! flower
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jamie-mason.com
My mother had the set (I'll not get caught out calling it a trilogy) as a gift from a would be suitor. With the negative connotations, she never read it, but carted it around from place to place as we moved.

I picked it up when I was sixteen and have read it eleven times. I mist up every time I come to the end, not only for poignancy, but because it's over.

I finally converted my mother and her twin about ten years later - and they turned into utter LotR freaks. My passion for it does fall short of dressing the part or naming my children accordingly, but the transporting magic of this book really is unequalled in my reading experience and it holds a very special place in my heart.

Last edited: