Nora Roberts

Crème de la Gem

Registered
Reaction score
Hello. I've been posting as spacekitton. Lately, I've been thinking I'm not like a little kitton anymore, and decided to give myself a new, more mature handle. I like this forum.

I'm really new to reading and writing in English. I've been trying to read established writers in many different genre, as well as classics. Although I thought the cover looked really corny, I thought what the hell, she's a very popular writer, and picked up this book called Blue Smoke. I didn't really wanted to like this book so much, but man, she really sucked me in!

I think her writing is a pretty solid example of modern day American female author. I am reading English translation of Count of Monte Cristo at the same time, and it's kind of boring me, and contrasting from Nora Roberts. I want to put it down but since I want to be a well-read person, I'm hanging on to it. But the story progression is much slower. Nora Roberts' writing is much leaner and fast. (of course, it might be better if i read it in French.)

I liked the romance and sex in Nora Roberts'. Though it's kind of embarrassing to say so.. I feel like such a chick.

Siddow

I'm super! Thanks for asking
Registered
Reaction score
I've read exactly three Nora Roberts novels. I was impressed with how many books she sells, so I thought I ought to read her. I went to the library and grabbed one--can't remember the name of it now--but it was the first of a trilogy. I finished the book in a day, went back to the library and picked up #2 and #3 and devoured them as well.

Now I'm scared to pick up any more of her books. If I get hooked on her, I've got a HUGE backlist to get through!

The trilogy I read (the Key? I think; I remember there was a creepy castle and souls trapped of three princesses who were also in a portrait in the castle, who oddly looked like the characters in the book) was more fantasy than romance, and I don't remember any sex. Or maybe I skipped it.