Writing to music

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eowyn Eomer

Does anyone else like writing to music? What I mean is you write while listening to music.

I avoid listening to music with lyrics because lyrics tend to distract me and I'll be sitting there singing along instead of writing.

I especially like movie soundtracks because they're mostly filled with non-lyric songs. Often I'll find a song that I just like that really stirs something deep in me and I will imagine a whole scene based solely upon that song. The songs that usually move me the most to write are very dramatic sounding.

mr mistook

I've been a musician for years, and when I hear music, even without lyrics, my brain automatically starts examining the composition. Music is just as distracting as lyrics.

I know a lot of people who can really multi-task when it comes to sensory input. My girlfriend can be watching TV, listing in to a song, reading a book, and chatting online all at the same time. I have no idea how she does this.

When I write, I have a "white noise" like a fan. Otherwise, I'm completely alone, and usually have the lights off, so that the only thing in the universe is the words themselves.

annied

Most times I write to music. Usually I try to pick something that fits the kind of mood or the kind of genre I'm in. For example, I have a soundtrack of sci-fi themes I listen to for some of my sci-fi writing, Wagner for the "sweeping epic, cast of thousands" scenes, and Celtic music for my current WIP (which has a Scotsman as a major character).

Sometimes I end up writing to the tune of The Wiggles or Songs from "Bear in the Big Blue House" or "Disney Playhouse 2". I had to get used to it...my son loves those! :rofl

HConn

No music. NPR on really low, so I can listen if I strain to hear, but it won't distract me if I'm concentrating.

Eowyn Eomer