Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys

Danger Jane

Registered
Reaction score
Anyone else read this? I first read it my freshman year of high school and while I liked it, it was a tough read. I could tell there was a LOT I wasn't getting at the tender age of 15. I just read it again a few weeks ago and I was pretty well blown away. I think I prefer it to Jane Eyre, in fact. Opinions?

eyeblink

Barbara says hi
Registered
Reaction score
I had a similar reaction to you in my first year at University. I do need to read this again.

I did like Rhys's earlier novel Quartet (filmed by Merchant Ivory), which reads as very "modern" for something written in the 1920s. I ought to read her other three 20s/30s novels sometime, but I could say that about a lot of things!

Marian Perera

starting over
Registered
Reaction score
Heaven is a place on earth called Toronto.
Website
www.marianperera.com
I studied Wide Sargasso Sea for my A'Levels. It was a difficult read when I first tackled it on my own, but when the entire class got in on it and I started seeing the patterns and symbols, I enjoyed it.

I heard there's also a film of Wide Sargasso Sea, but I'm afraid to watch.

Darklite

Registered
Reaction score
I just got back from a university tutorial where we are studying this very book. I think I might like it a lot better if I could get past the idea that techincally all this is is a piece of fan fiction. I think Rhys totally transformed Mr Rochester, and not in a way I can connect to the character I read about in Jane Eyre. I have been advised to separate the two novels but I am finding that hard to do, and I'm not sure whether Charlotte Bronte would be delighted or horrified by Jean Rhys's take on Mr R's time in the West Indies.

And don't be afraid of the screen adaptation (BBC version, I don't know if there's another), it stays pretty close to the book, though if I remember rightly it begins somewhere around part two of the novel- I don't think we get to see Antoinette as a child.