Richard Bachman

Fox The Cave

I get cancer. I kill Jack.
Registered
Reaction score
Yep, that ever so mysterious man who once put 'Rooster Worship' down as his religion on a survey. He died a while back (cancer of the pseudonym - it kills over one non-existant people every year), but i'm just getting into his work now. I've read Thinner and I just finished The Long Walk. A few pages into Road Work right now.

Thinner was good, I enjoyed it - but the ending didn't really work for me. Felt it wasn't really the right ending for the story. The mobster was by far my favourite character, I forget his name though. Started with a G.

The Long Walk was fucking phenonemal - I really, really enjoyed it and it far surpassed my expectations. Except...again, the ending. The end fell a bit flat for me - apart from that revelation about Stebbins, it was pretty run-of-the-mill and unfortunately not very satisfying. The story, the style and the characters throughout though were simply amazing - I greatly recommend this book. Or just pick it up in The Bachman Books and save yourself a few dollars.

Road Work seems pretty good so far, but i'm only 20 or so pages in.

Your thoughts on this mysterious character and his works?

PS - Lets keep this topic devoid of discussions of Kings work - lets just focus on Mr. Bachman here. I think he's starting to get a little jealous of all the attention Stephen gets.

kristie911

Happy to be here
Registered
Reaction score
Love his books. I've read all his older works but not in a long time.

But I just read Blaze and thought it was excellent. Great characters, appropriate ending. Very entertaining. It's a newer release (I got it in paperback though, and I'm not sure it came out in hardcover) but was written by Bachman in the early 70's. I highly recommend it.

orion_mk3

Ne Cede Malis
Registered
Reaction score