Hello to everyone and thanks! -

jaysonnola

Registered
Reaction score
Hi Everyone!
I'm jaysonnola. I've been writing stories and poetry for as long as I've been able to read and write. I've had a few things published, but mostly academic pieces. I have a PhD in Literary Studies and have therefore spent a long time dissecting works, analyzing works, and critically reviewing them. However, I have actually always wanted to write fiction. I did get some recognition for my writing back in school though that is something that I haven't really pursued as an adult . I'm a middle-aged man who thinks that the best in life is still to come. I really believe that. Literature has always been my great love and I am always reading a couple of books concurrently. My career, rather oddly, developed in an aspect quite far removed from my training as a literary scholar and I really miss being surrounded by important conversations about stories. I believe that our stories are all that remain. My favorite genres are fiction (particularly historical fiction) and the contemporary essay. I've started a novel (again) which is moving at a snail's pace. Thanks to you all for welcoming me into your world.

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Happy to have you join us, jaysonnola. I think you'll find plenty of serious discussion of literature and books here--and a lot of other fascinating back-and-forth about all kinds of things tangentially (or not at all!) related to it.

I'll be first to ask: What's the book you just started about?

Maryn, pleased to meet you

Reactions: DangerousBrian

DangerousBrian

Registered
Reaction score