How do you make a sport that doesn't exist?

Anorux

Registered
Reaction score
Okay, I know I’ve been bringing worldbuilding up a lot, but I’ll explain:
I’ve been worldbuilding a world that anthro dragons and humans populate. I’ve been doing it for…three years now, and I occasionally have an issue.
How would one build a more dragon-centered sport? I know this sounds stupid, but right now I’m doing culture and I’ve never done this before, and I thought maybe someone would know.
Maybe I could use them breathing fire/ice as part of it?
The sport only features dragons. think of the dragons as basically dragonborn from D&D but with wings/tails

Woollybear

Registered
Reaction score
Keep it easy for the reader by starting with what our sports usually have in common.

Teams. Scoring systems. Sometimes gear or uniforms. Often a ball, or else some other object that is not alive but needs to hit a goal. A defined field of play. Often, officials. Penalties. Fans. Playoffs.

You can change some of these things, but it seems to me that you'd want the sport to feel like a sport.

So with dragons, you could have the field be in the air, for example. The ball could be an egg, or flammable, or a human?, and accidentally flaming the ball gets you a penalty. The gear could enhance or restrict dragon nature.

Rules: e.g. Only three flames allowed per play, and so on.

From the larger world, penalties and rewards could tie into big cultural things or other. The winning dragon is king of the city for the upcoming year.

It's fun to mess around with ideas. I definitely think fire is good low-hanging fruit. Start with typical aspects of most games, that's my advice.

Last edited:

Unimportant

No COVID yet. Still masking.
Staff member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score