• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Tips for building confidence as a new writer?

pratfalleffect

Registered
Reaction score
Hi Friends! I am new to AW and new to the writing world so I am trying to do as much as I can to learn about the process. It's been so cool to see people share about their experiences with writing and seeing the questions people bring to this forum. I've found it to be so helpful. I keep catching myself doubting myself and thinking I'm silly for trying to write a novel when I have absolutely zero experience in this field. I'm a social worker, working on a mental health unit in a prison for my career but I have always loved reading and writing for fun. I am obsessed with storytelling which is probably why I was drawn to a career field where I get to hear people's life stories on a day-to-day basis. Does anyone have any advice for someone just starting out with pursuing writing seriously? Appreciated in advance!

lizmonster

Possibly A Mermaid Queen
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
elizabethbonesteel.com
Does anyone have any advice for someone just starting out with pursuing writing seriously?

Like any skill, writing requires time and practice. Nobody starts out being brilliant at it. Don't tell yourself you're "silly" if what you're writing isn't yet where you want it to be - remind yourself you're in training, and it's going to take time.

And don't compare yourself to anyone else! Everyone's writer brain trains differently, and at a different rate. Your job, as a writer, isn't to beat the writer next door - it's too hone your own craft so you can produce what your imagination is asking you to produce. What seems slow to you is going to seem terribly fast to someone else. Your pace is your own.

Patience and perseverence.

alexp336

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.alexpendragon.com